The Denville Township Police Department's Patrol Division is the backbone of the Denville Police Department. They are the uniformed Officers who provide the first line of defense for the public's safety. The Patrol Division currently consists of twenty officers, four Sergeants and sixteen Patrol Officers, under the command of Lt. Scott Welsch. The Officers are divided into four Patrol Squads consisting of a Sergeant and four Patrol Officers. A Dispatcher is also assigned to each squad. The squads are assigned to work twelve hour shifts, four days on/four days off, rotating between days and nights every two tours.

The Patrol Division is charged with the enforcement of all Criminal Laws, Motor Vehicle Laws and Township Ordinances. To this end, the Patrol Division's Officers conduct speeding and radar enforcement, investigate motor vehicle accidents, detect drunk drivers, detect narcotic drug law violations, handle domestic violence calls, conduct random patrol in marked patrol cars, conduct foot patrol of the town's business district, and participate in our Community Policing programs. These Officers also serve as the first responders to all fire and ambulance calls within the Township. When you call for HELP, these Officers are the people that come to your aid.

The Officers of the Patrol Division are all medically trained as First Responders and are also certified in the use of an automatic defibrillator and the administration of Narcan.  When you call for medical assistance, one of the Patrol Officers will generally be the first person to respond. The Officer will provide whatever medical assistance he/she can until the first-aid squad arrives on scene.

The Division Commander of the Patrol Division is currently:

Lt. Scott Welsch
973-627-4900 x 313

Patrol Sergeants:

 Subrizi  Williams  Jackson  Fernandez
Squad 1
Sgt. Dennis Subrizi 
Squad 2
Sgt. Brian Williams 
Squad 3
Sgt. Frederick Jackson
Squad 4
Sgt. Daniel Fernandez